The first step toward becoming a certified Administrator for a Residential Care Facility for the Elderly (RCFE) in California is to successfully complete an 80-hour Initial Certification Training Program. State regulations require that 60 of the 80 Initial Training hours be taken in a Live Classroom setting. However, due to COVID-19, CCLD has set forth a statewide waiver with PIN 20-28-CCLD that approves vendors to “live stream” the Live Classroom portion of the Initial Certification Training during the current State of Emergency. With CareerSmart®, for your convenience during shelter in place orders, this program is made up of 20 Online hours and 60 hours of Live Webinar instruction so that the complete 80-hr training can be completed from home or anywhere you have internet access. Once you have selected and registered for your preferred Live Webinar dates for the “Live Classroom” portion of the training, you will automatically be enrolled in the 20 Online hours. You will receive an email confirmation, and you can begin taking the 20 Online hours immediately. The Online portion of the training can be taken at any time prior to completion of the full 80-hour program, but we encourage students to complete them before starting the 60-hour “Live Classroom” training, to ensure the most optimal learning experience. Certificates of completion for the full 80 hours of Initial Certification Training will not be issued to students until both portions of the program are complete. However, by offering 20 of the hours as online modules, you have the flexibility to complete a portion of the training at any time. Please visit our FAQ page for more information and troubleshooting tips for our Live Webinar Classes.
Are you approved by the CCLD?
The 80-hour program offered by CareerSmart® Learning is approved by the California Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing Division (CCLD), Administration Certification Section, (Vendor #2000386-0740-1), will prepare students for the State RCFE Administrator Certification Exam, and will give students the necessary tools to become successful RCFE Administrators.
What are the benefits of choosing CareerSmart® classes?
- 20 hours can be completed online, from any location with internet access.
- 60 hours are in a live webinar setting
- Free digital materials, including Health and Safety Code & Title 22 Regulations
- Classes are taught by credentialed, engaging instructors, including former Licensing Program staff from CCLD who possess expertise in the RCFE program, providing insider perspectives on enhancing facility compliance, as well as experienced Administrators/Executive Directors, nurses and dementia specialists.
- Online practice test to help ensure success on the State exam.
What if my certificate expired?
Note: Individuals whose RCFE Administrator Certificate expired more than four years ago are required to retake the Initial Certification Course. However, if your certificate expired within the last four years, this course is not applicable. You would need to renew your certificate by submitting evidence of completing the required CEUs (20 per year).
What if I have a current Nursing Home Administrator License?
Individuals who possess a current Nursing Home Administrator license, issued by the California Department of Public Health, are only required to take 12 of the 80 hours and do not need to take the state exam. Regulations require the 12 hours include the topics of laws and regulations, medications, and admission/assessment of residents. For this abbreviated 12-hour live classroom program, the cost is $399. If you would like to enroll in the 12 hours, please give us a call at 877-479-7338, so that we may process your payment over the phone, as our website only has the full pricing available for purchase online.
What qualifications do I need to become an RCFE Administrator?
To become an RCFE/Assisted Living Administrator in California, individuals must meet the following qualifications, per California Health and Safety Code and Title 22:
The administrator shall have the qualifications specified in Sections 87405(d)(1) through (7). If the licensee is also the administrator, all requirements for an administrator shall apply.
- Knowledge of the requirements for providing care and supervision appropriate to the residents.
- Knowledge of and ability to conform to the applicable laws, rules, and regulations.
- Ability to maintain or supervise the maintenance of financial and other records.
- When applicable, the ability to direct the work of others.
- Good character and a continuing reputation of personal integrity.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent, such as a General Education Development (GED) certificate.
- Be at least 21 years of age.
If you have a question about whether you qualify to become an administrator please contact us.
How do I complete the online portion of the 80 hour program?
Watch the video below for instructions on accessing the online portion.
What is your refund/make-up policy?
Cancellations or transfers by learner are accepted up to ten (10) days preceding a live event’s scheduled start time/date, Pacific Standard Time (PST). All cancellations made earlier than ten (10) days preceding a live event will be entitled to a refund of registration fees, minus a 10% non-refundable processing fee. The refund amount will be issued within 30 days of cancellation. No refunds will be provided for event cancellations made by learners less than ten (10) days prior to the event.
- Cancellations by learner are not accepted less than ten (10) days prior to the live event’s scheduled start time/date, Pacific Standard Time (PST). However, you may still transfer your purchase to another program or learner if at least 24-hour advance notice prior to the class date is provided. All transfers made less than ten (10) days prior to the event are subject to a $75 transfer fee for Initial Certification Programs and a $25 transfer fee for live CEU classes.
- No refunds or transfer options will be provided for learners who do not show; learner will need to pay the full amount to attend another class date/session. No refunds will be provided to learners enrolled in a program with both live classroom and online components if the learner has started the online or live component. Orders over 60 days from purchase are not eligible for refunds.
For cancellations by CareerSmart® Learning, learners will be notified at least 24 hours (PST) in advance of the event start time/date. Learners may transfer their registration to another class date, or will be entitled to a full refund, which will be issued within 30 days of the cancellation date.
Learners who have enrolled in a routine or regularly scheduled Initial Certification Training Program and are more than 15-minutes late to class or are unable to attend a portion of the program, may be allowed to make-up the day(s) missed within a 6-month period, subject to availability, and subject to a $75 make-up fee per day missed.
Learners who are late to a live CEU class totaling more than 15-minutes of any topic of the class will not receive credit for that topic but may choose to stay and attend the remaining topics. Course credit will only be provided for course topics attended in full; there are no exceptions.
Paperback copies of course materials are non-refundable.
If you have additional questions about our refund/make-up policy or need to reschedule a live class date, please contact us.
Disclaimer: Webinar dates are subject to change, depending on student enrollment. Any date change will be communicated to those registered in advance. Webinar classes are subject to change to live, in-classroom training at the discretion of state requirements regarding COVID-19. CCLD has set forth a statewide waiver with PIN 20-28-CCLD that approves vendors to “live stream” the Live Classroom portion of the Initial Certification Training program during the current State of Emergency.