Trauma-Informed Care in Skilled Nursing – 1.25 CE/Contact Hours

(NAB/NCERS Approved)



This course can be taken to meet the requirements of federal regulations for skilled nursing facilities to provide Trauma Informed Care training to staff (on an annual basis.) Course objectives include: Name 5 different components of F-TAG 699; define trauma; recognize a trauma survivor using behavioral indicators; examine different trauma assessment tools; describe 3 aspects of cultural competence in trauma-informed care; understand the difference between PTSD and trauma-informed care.

Starting November 28, 2019, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services expects skilled nursing facility staff to provide culturally competent trauma-informed care. This course provides an introduction to trauma-informed care that both complies with F-Tag 699 and prepares staff for the behavioral health interventions needed to provide a trauma-informed approach to create an environment where residents feel safe and supported. The identification of trauma survivors is predicated on the universal approach that all residents have the potential to experience trauma simply by being admitted to a nursing home and that all trauma survivors deserve privacy and confidentiality with their sensitive personal histories.

This program has been approved for Continuing Education for 1.25 total participant hours by NAB/NCERS—Approval #20250324-1.25-A100089-DL. This course applies to the following professions:

  • Nursing Home Administrators (all states)
  • Residential Care/Assisted Living Administrators (most states)

Learners must pass final quiz with 80% or more; may re-take as often as needed.

This program is developed and narrated by Tracy Greene Mintz, LCSW, a popular speaker and expert in long term care social services and owner of Senior Care Training. The program can be taken entirely at a self-directed pace. It includes learning checks and a final quiz. Learners can stop and start the program at their leisure. The certificate will be available immediately upon completion of the program.

States that do not accept NAB/NCERS approval for assisted living include California, District of Columbia, Maryland, Ohio, Rhode Island, and Washington. It is your responsibility to verify that your state board will accept continuing education credits approved by NAB. If you are a California RCFE Administrator, you can access our CA RCFE Administrator CE catalog.

Per NAB regulations, navigation within these courses is restricted in that each slide must be viewed in its entirety before advancing to the next slide. Learners must view each slide and click the next button to advance in the course.


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

©2009-2024 CareerSmart® Learning. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy - Terms of Service

CareerSmart® Learning is a registered trademark and wholly owned division of ISYS® Solutions, Inc.